st. valentine died a brutal death, you know

i’ve numbed myself, steeled myself,

concealed,

consoled,

been stolen from–

two years                    later i’m about to crack open

only a matter of time until the glass door lodged closed in the center of my heart

s h  a  t  t e  r  s–

wish i could let the past be past let

it

fall

into

the recesses of my mind but

it’s still there,

its treacherous claws only digging in deeper so

hello there, terror–

now i see your face in every slender stranger in the subway

in the familiar dark jealous rage reaching through my dreams

to pull me in for a kiss.

Leave a Reply

