Ice Cream

It is my birthday and here’s what I am doing:

I am finishing a pint of Ben and Jerry’s on my way to therapy. These days,

I am learning how to be happy.

.

.

I am trying to get to the heart of something;

I am trying to tell the truth, without

the normal trappings of all those poets, you know,

the famous ones, the ones that will

be remembered and discussed and critically analyzed.

What was she thinking as she wrote this?

.

.

Instead I’ll tell you:

I was thinking about how sometimes I feel nineteen, and

sometimes I feel thirty-five.

I am working on feeling twenty-four.

Leave a Reply

