Loose Change, I and II

loose change I

you tell me you love my smile

as i count out your change that you let fall through your fingers

into the tip jar.

 

i’ve been trudging through the long hours until

i can climb back into my car and into myself

and i can’t decide if the compliment makes me happy

or not;

i can’t decide if it’s you or me i’m fooling.

 

 

 

loose change II

i notice a penny that’s fallen to the floor by the register,

slipped out of reach during the lunch rush,

abandoned until the still, warm, lazy afternoon of

parties of two

dining in.

i lean down to pick it up but

it’s tails.

i make sure no one is watching, then quickly flip it over and walk away.

Leave a Reply

