Emily

I just found out that the girl I said was

one of the only people I believed would change the world

just did

by leaving it.

 

We hadn’t spoken since

that sunny day at the market.

I always watched her,

my stand was right next to hers.

I was always amazed by her energy.

She had a finite number of produce jokes,

but people laughed every time–

that’s just how she was.

 

She was so small but

when I think about her I think lanky

the way she stretched out to greet everyone,

the day,

the universe.

One thought on “Emily

Leave a Reply

